2018 FIFA World Cup: The early finalists emerge

2018 FIFA World Cup: The final list emerges

As the world approaches the very final matches of the qualifying series, 23 countries are already assured of a place including hosts Russia at next year’s 32-team FIFA World Cup.

In Africa, only two nations have clinched their spots, out of the five berths meant for the continent. The other three spots will be filled in in the next international break in November.

1. Nigeria
2. Egypt

The South American qualifying has been concluded in the early hours of Wednesday. The four top-teams have qualified automatically from the 10-team league, while 5th-placed Peru will determine their qualification in a play-off against New Zealand.

3. Brazil
4. Uruguay
5. Colombia
6. Argentina

The Europe qualifying matches are concluded, and the 9 automatic slots from the 9 groups have been grabbed by table-toppers. The best eight runners-up in the groups will take part in play-offs, and winners on aggregate will fill in the remaining 4 spots.

7. Germany
8. Belgium
9. England
10. France
11. Iceland
12. Poland
13. Portugal
14. Serbia
15. Spain

The Asian representatives have long emerged. Four teams secured automatic qualification, while Australia are in the playoff.

16. Iran
17. Japan
18. South Korea
19. Saudi Arabia

For the North, Central America and Caribbean, three nations have clinched automatic qualification, while the 4th-placed Honduras will fight for a place through a two-legged play-off with Australia.

20. Mexico
21.. Costa Rica
22. Panama

And the hosts of the 2018 edition of the World Cup complete the lot.

23. Russia


RipplesNigeria… without borders, without fears

Click here to join the Ripples Nigeria WhatsApp group for latest updates.

Join the conversation


About the author


We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.