Connect with us


Otis lists Akhator, 11 others in D’Tigress’ pre-Olympics Qualifiers squad



D'Tigress and coach Otis Hughley

D’Tigress Head Coach, Otis Hughley has announced a 12-man roaster for the 2020 pre-Olympics qualifiers coming up in Mozambique between November 14 to 17.

US-based Upe Atosu, whose last game for Nigeria was at the 2017 Afrobasket final win over Senegal, was recalled.

2019 Afrobasket Most Valuable Player Ezinne Kalu, Promise Anumakara, Atonye Nyingifa, Sarah Imovbioh and Evelyn Akhator were also been included alongside team captain, Adaora Elonu.

Other players include multiple Afrobasket winner Aisha Balarabe, Ify Ibekwe, whose first international debut was at the 2019 Afrobasket in Senegal as well as Victoria Macaulay.

Read Also: AFCON 2021: Rohr releases Eagles squad list for Benin, Lesotho qualifiers

Elizabeth Balogun, who was named in the 2019 Atlantic Coast Conference Fresh Man Team while with Georgia Tech University, is also on line to earn her first international cap alongside Pallas Kunnayi-Akpannah, who narrowly missed the 2019 Afrobasket party.

Nigeria grouped alongside Host- Mozambique and DR Congo in Group A while Senegal will compete against Angola and Mali in Group B will open camp on November 10 in Maputo

According to FIBA, the two group winners will join 14 other teams from Europe, Asia and the Americas to fight for the 10 Olympic slots on offer at the Olympic Qualifying Tournament.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now