Latest Politics Top Stories

Buhari asks Senate to confirm eight new Justices of Supreme Court

President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday urged the Senate to approve the appointment of eight new Supreme Court justices.

In the letter read by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, at plenary, the president said the appointments of the judges was based on the recommendations of the National Judicial Council.

The nominees are – Lawal Garba (North West), Helen Ogunwumiju (South West), Abdu Aboki (North West), and M.M. Saulawa (North West).

READ ALSO: NJC lists names of judges recommended for Supreme Court

Others are – Adamu Jauro (North East), Samuel Oseji (South-South), Tijani Abubakar (North East), and Emmanuel Agim (South-South).

President Buhari said his action was “in pursuant to Section 231 (2) of the 1999 Constitution as amended.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

/* ]]> */