Connect with us


Buhari rejects 17 more bills passed by 8th Senate under Saraki, assents to 9 others



You are on your own! Presidency tells APC leaders Buhari will not interfere in rerun elections

Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters (Senate), Senator Ita Enang, on Wednesday revealed that President Muhammadu Buhari has rejected additional 17 out of the 318 bills passed by the 8th National Assembly.

But at the last count, Buhari has given assent to nine other bills passed by the 8th National Assembly.

Enang, who made this known to newsmen in Abuja on Wednesday, said Buhari did not communicate with the 9th Assembly on the rejection of those bills because there was nothing the new assembly members can do about it.

The Bills were passed by the Senate under the leadership of former senate president, Bukola Saraki.

Explaining that the current assembly cannot take action by way of commenting or overriding any of the rejected bills because the law forbids the federal lawmakers to do so, Enang however assured he was going to engage the leadership of both chambers of the National Assembly on the rationale behind the rejection of the bills.

He listed the 17 rejected bills to include Adeyemi Federal university of Education (Establishment) Bill; Federal University of Education, Kano, Bill; Alvan Ikoku Federal University of Education Bill; Federal University of Education Zaria, Bill; National Security Agencies Protection of Officers Identity Bill; Federal Capital Territory Emergency Management Agency Bill; Environmental Managers Registration Council of Nigeria Bill.

Others are Industrial Development Income Tax Act Amendment Bill; Defence Research and Development Bureau Bill; Animal Diseases Control Bill; Good Samaritans Bill; Chattered Institute of Directors of Nigeria Bill; National Institute of Hospitality and Tourism Establishment Bill; Federal University of Wukari (Establishment) Bill; Warehouse Receipt and Other Related Matters Bill; Federal Capital Territory Health Insurance Agency Bill; Nigeria Automative Industry Development Plant Fiscal Incentive and Guarantees Bill; Nigerian Film Commission Bill; and Proceeds of Crime Bill.

On the nine bills assented to by President Buhari, Enang listed them to include the Police Trust Fund Act, Nigeria Natural Medicine Establishment Act, FCT Management Board and Health Insurance, Suppression of Piracy and other Maritime Defence Bill.

Others are, Institute of Transport Administration of Nigeria Bill, National Institute of Construction Technology and Management (Establishment) bill, National Agricultural Seed Council bill, Agriculture Credit Guarantee Scheme Fund (Amendment), FCT Primary Healthcare Board.

This revelation came on the day the Senate approved a motion directing the executive to ensure the replacement of old oil pipelines spread across the country.

READ ALSO: Group demands compensation for nursing mother assaulted by Senator Abbo

The call on the executive to replace all old oil pipelines was in response to a recent oil pipeline explosion at Komkom Town in Oyigbo Local Government Area of Rivers State which claimed many lives and property.

The Senate particularly urged the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC); and all other relevant agencies involved in the oil and gas exploration and exploitation activities; as well as laying of the pipelines to take a holistic survey of their pipelines so that very aged ones should be replaced.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now