CAF Awards: Salah wins, Oshoala misses out as Super Falcons reign again

Mohamed Salah

Mohamed Salah has been crowned the CAF African Footballer of the Year for the second time, beating Sadio Mane and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang to the coveted prize.

The Egyptian forward, who plays for Liverpool FC of England, was handed the award at the Aiteo CAF Awards ceremony in Dakar, Sengal on Tuesday night.

Salah had made history last year becoming the first Egyptian to win the title since the inception of the awards in 1992, but now joins the elite league of players to win the honour back-to-back.

Senegalese El Hadji Diouf (2001, 2002), Samuel Eto’o of Cameroon (2003, 2004) and Toure (2011, 2012) are the only other three to have won successive titles.

Read Also: AFCON 2019: Egypt to host expanded 24-team tournament

In the women’s category, Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala missed out on the opportunity to win a fourth title, as Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana of South Africa beat her and Francisca Ordega to the African Women’s Player of the Year award.

However, the Nigeria women’s national team, Super Falcons, won the Women’s National team of the Year award for a record fourth time.

The Falcons have claimed the prize in 2010, in 2014, in 2016 and now in 2018, having won the Africa Women’s Cup of Nations a record nine times.

Nigeria’s Wilfred Ndidi also missed out in the Youth player category as Achraf Hakimi of Morocco was named African Youth Player of the Year 2018.

Coach Hervé Renard of Morocco defeated Aliou Cissé and Moïne Chaâbani to win the Men’s Coach of the Year 2018.

South Africa’s Banyana Banyana coach, Desiree Ellis was named African Women’s Coach of the Year 2018, as Nigeria’s Thomas Dennerby missed out.

Mauritania, who qualified for the Africa Cup of Nations for the very first time, were named the Men’s Team of the Year 2018.

Mr. Fouzi Lekjaa was presented with the Tessema Award.


RipplesNigeria… without borders, without fears

Click here to join the Ripples Nigeria WhatsApp group for latest updates.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ben Ugbana

/* ]]> */