Nigeria In One Minute

Vardy, Mahrez, Kanté lead PFA Player award list

Jamie Vardy, Riyad Mahrez and N’Golo Kanté have all been recognised for their role in Leicester City’s Premier League title charge by being named on the shortlist for the PFA Players’ Player of the Year.

The Foxes trio make up half of the six-man shortlist for the award, which is voted for by their peers, with Tottenham’s 22-goal striker Harry Kane, the Arsenal midfielder Mesut Özil and West Ham’s Dimitri Payet the other names in the frame to succeed the 2015 winner Eden Hazard.

Kane is also in contention to retain the Young Player of the Year award he won 12 months ago and he features on a six-player shortlist alongside Spurs team-mate Dele Alli, the Everton pair Romelu Lukaku and Ross Barkley, Stoke’s Jack Butland and Liverpool’s Philippe Coutinho.

Read also: Ronaldo: Goals are in my DNA

The winners for each category will be announced on Sunday 24 April, and the strong Leicester presence on the shortlist for the men’s award is a reflection of the league leaders’ improbable season, which has already seen them secure Champions League qualification.

Vardy is one goal behind his England colleague Kane in the race for the division’s golden boot while Mahrez has chipped in with 16 goals and 11 assists. Kanté’s role in defensive midfield, meanwhile, has earned widespread praise.

RipplesNigeria …without borders, without fears

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!