Connect with us


Reps confirm Tinubu’s nominees for NDDC board, management



The House of Representatives, on Thursday, screened and confirmed the nominees of President Bola Tinubu to the Board and Management of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC).

The nominees appeared before the House ad-hoc committee mandated to conduct the screening on Thursday.

Ripples Nigeria reports that President Bola Tinubu had written to the House of Representatives, to ratify the NDDC’s chairman and its governing board, acting in compliance with section 2(2) of the Niger Delta Development Commission (Establishment etc.) Act.

Speaking on Thursday, the Chairman of the House Committee on NDDC, Erhiatake Ibori-Suenu, charged the confirmed designates to justify the confidence reposed in them by President Tinubu.

Ibori-Suenu said: “Now, more than ever before, the NDDC needs visionary leaders with integrity to drive the discharge of the commission’s mandate, to translate to tangible impact on the lives of the people and communities in the Niger Delta.”

The screening exercise featured presentations by Mr. Chiedu Ebie and Dr. Samuel Ogbuku, NDDC Chairman and Managing Director, Chief Executive Officer designates respectively, who shared details of their respective career trajectories, and vision for the commission.

The Deputy Minority Leader of the House, Ali Isa, moved the motion for the designates to take a bow in deference to the fact that the Senate had similarly screened and confirmed them, and also in consideration of the fact that some of the designates were former parliamentarians.

The motion was seconded by Deputy Leader of the House, Abdullahi Ibrahim Halims, and unanimously carried by the committee.

With the ad-hoc committee’s resolve to confirm all the nominees, the National Assembly is expected to immediately transmit its resolution to the Presidency, having effectively fulfilled Section 2 (2) (a) of the NDDC Act, which prescribes that the nominees must be screened and confirmed by the Senate in consultation with the House of Representatives.

Read also: Naira depreciates further in parallel market, now N1,030 to a dollar

The designates confirmed are:
Mr. Chiedu Ebie, Chairman, Delta State
Dr. Samuel Ogbuku, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Bayelsa
Mr. Boma lyaye, the Executive Director, Finance and Admin, Rivers
Mr.Victor Antai Executive Director Projects, Akwa-Ibom
Otito Atikase Executive Director, Corporate Services, Ondo
Dimaro Denyanbofa, State Representative Bayelsa
Mr. Abasi Nkono, State Representative Akwa-Ibom
Monday Igbuya, State Representative Delta,
Tony Okocha, State Representative Rivers
Patrick Aisowieren, State Representative Edo
Mr.Kyrian Uchegbu, State Representative Imo
Victor Akinjo, State Representative Ondo
Dimgba Eruba, State Representative Abia
Orok Otu Duke, State Representative Cross River
Nick Wende, Zonal Representative North Central
Namdas Abdulrazak, Zonal Representative North East
Dr.Ibrahim Abdullahi Gobir, Zonal Representative North West.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now