Connect with us


RMAFC kick-starts work on new revenue sharing formula



RMAFC kick-starts work on new revenue sharing formula

The Revenue Mobilisation Allocation and Fiscal Commission (RMAFC) has kick-started the process of evolving a new revenue sharing formula for the country, as it on Thursday inaugurated 18 standing committees.

The committees included the one that will work on a new revenue sharing formula.

With a total of 139 members, the committees comprise of 12 constitutional committees and six in-house committees, with members drawn from the agencies commissioners representing various states of the country.

The constitutional committees are Indices and Disbursement Committee, Federal Allocation Account Committee, Crude Oil Monitoring Committee, and Inland Revenue Monitoring Committee to be headed by Chris Akomas, Abia; Alhaji Kabir Mashi, Katsina; Alhaji Ahmed Gumel, Jigawa; and Samuel Maagbe, Benue, respectively.

Similarly, the Customs Revenue Monitoring Committee is chaired by Dr Olusegun Wright, from Lagos State, while the Solid Minerals Monitoring Committee is headed by Aliyu Abdulkadir, from Nasarawa State.

Other committees and their chairmen include Gas Monitoring Committee, Mrs Maria Aniobi, Enugu; Remuneration and Monetisation Committee, Mohammed Usman, Gombe and Fiscal Efficiency and Budget Committee, Prof. Isa Mohammed, Bauchi.

Others are Mobilisation and Diversification Committee, Ayang Okon, Akwa Ibom; Revenue Allocation Formula Committee, Philip Amujo, Ekiti; and Investment Committee, Mr Andrew Agbara, Delta.

Read also: You’re on a vendetta journey against me, Okorocha tells

The in-house committees are Legal Matters Committee, headed by Umar Abdullahi, Kano; National Assembly Liaison Committee chaired by Musa Abari, FCT; and Personnel Matters Committee chaired by Ntufam Whiley, Cross River.

Two other in-house committees – Public Affairs and Communication Committee and Business and Rules Committee – are chaired by Rilwan Abarshi, Kebbi, and Alhaji Madu Jubluri, Yobe, respectively.

The sixth in-house committee, Finance and General Purpose Committee, is chaired by Chairman, RMAFC, Mr Elias Mbam. Membership of the committee includes all committee chairmen.

According Mbam, it had become absolutely necessary to constitute the standing committees to address issues pertaining to the commission’s mandate, adding that the committees were to carry out in-depth study and work on their specific assignments.

Mbam, who said President Muhammadu Buhari had directed the management of the RMAFC to concentrate more on expanding the sources of revenue to the Federation Account and other non-oil sources, called on the chairmen and members of the committees to devise new strategies that would further improve the work processes of the commission and strengthen the existing collaboration between the commission and stakeholders.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now