After rubbishing Ambode, Bello returns as SSG in Sanwo-Olu’s 25-man cabinet | Ripples Nigeria
Connect with us


After rubbishing Ambode, Bello returns as SSG in Sanwo-Olu’s 25-man cabinet



Sanwo-Olu swears in commissioners, special advisers, assign portfolios

Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has forwarded a list of 25 commissioners and special advisers to the House of Assembly for approval.

A notable inclusion in Sanwo-Olu’s list is former Secretary to the State Government (SSG) under former governor Akinwunmi Ambode, Tunji Bello. Bello shocked the public with his scathing criticism of the Ambode administration in a leaked letter.

Many had wondered how a member of a cabinet would be so dismissive of a government he served under, going as far as branding it the worst in the history of the state. If Bello wanted to ingratiate himself with the then-incoming government, his plan seems to have worked perfectly.

A statement by the Governor’s Deputy Chief Press Secretary, Gboyega Akosile, said Sanwo-Olu carefully picked the nominees based on their cognate experience in their respective professions.

Other known faces on the list include, former Commissioner for Special Duties, Wale Ahmed, and former Commissioner for Wealth Creation, Mrs Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf.

According to Akosile, the list “comprised names of technocrats and politicians who understand the challenges of the state”, noting that the painstaking and laborious selection process was aimed at constituting the best team that will serve Lagos.

The statement said, “We took our time to pick the best hands for the tough job Lagosians have elected us to do. The nominees for the twenty five Commissioner and Special Adviser positions include women and men who have made their mark and at the zenith of their professional callings.’’

READ ALSO: Why we saved Obasanjo from impeachment in 2007 – Gowon

The aide stated further that the current list is the first batch, adding that consultation was going on with regard to the complete number of the cabinet members.

He further disclosed that the new cabinet would be unique because of its diversity. Quoting Governor Sanwo-Olu, he said Lagos would continue to take the lead in innovation, gender-balance and youth inclusion in the administration of the State.

“We have a blend of youth who are under 40 among nominees for Commissioners and Special Advisers. Women too are well represented in the list. We believe Lagos deserves the best and we cannot give the people anything less than that.

“There are 17 men and eight women that will be sworn in as members of the State Executive Council. Also in keeping his promise of millennial’s inclusion, Governor Sanwo-Olu included youths who are in their early and mid-thirties in the list of nominees”, the statement said.

Below are names of the nominees:

1. Mr. Rabiu Olowo Onaolapo

2. Mrs. Folashade Adefisayo

3. Prof. Akin Abayomi

4. Dr. Idris Salako

5. Mr. Tunji Bello

6. Mr. Gbenga Omotoso

7. Mrs. Toke Benson-Awoyinka

8. Mrs. Bolaji Dada

9. Mr. Lere Odusote

10. Dr. Frederic Oladeinde

11. Mr. Gbolahan Lawal

12. Ms. Adekemi Ajayi

13. Mr. Femi George

14. Dr. Wale Ahmed

15. Mr. Moyo Onigbanjo (SAN)

16. Mr. Hakeem Fahm

17. Mrs. Ajibola Ponnle

18. Engr. Aramide Adeyoye

19. Mr. Segun Dawodu

20. Mrs. Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf

21. Mr. Sam Egube

22. Ms Ruth Bisola Olusanya

23. Princess Aderemi Adebowale

24. Mr. Tunbosun Alake

25. Mr. Afolabi Ayantayo

Join the conversation


Join the conversation



Latest Tech News

Copyright © 2021 Ripples Nigeria. All rights reserved.