Connect with us

Nigeria Decides 2019

INEC finally announces APC as winner of March 9 Reps re-run election in Imo



All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Chike Okafor, has been declared winner of Okigwe South federal constituency seat in the House of Representatives.

Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared Okafor as the winner of the constituency seat on Sunday, two weeks after the commission conducted a supplementary election in the area.

At the end of the National Assembly election of February 23, no winner emerged from the election.

Read also: SOKOTO: Gov Tambuwal wins re-election with 341 votes

On March 9, INEC conducted a supplementary election for the area but had since refused to collate and announced the results of the poll.

On Sunday March 24, the Returning Officer, Professor C. I. Duruigbo announced that Okafor, a serving member of the House of representatives won the election with a total vote of 23,815 to defeat his closest rival, Emeka Nwajiuba of the Accord party, who scored 21,454 votes.

Action Alliance candidate got 2,549 votes while Jonas Okeke of the Peoples Democratic Party scored 14,621 votes, the Returning Officer said.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now