Latest Politics Top Stories

INEC declares APC’s Lyon winner of Bayelsa election

INEC declares APC's Lyon winner of Bayelsa election

The independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate in Bayelsa State, Chief David Lyon, as winner of Saturday’s governorship election in the state.

The APC candidate won in six out of the eight local government areas of the state, while the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Douye Diri, won in the remaining two.

This is the first time PDP will lose a governorship contest in Bayelsa as it has governed the state since the return of democracy to the country in 1999.

Read also: KOGI WEST RERUN: Melaye rejects ‘Helicopter election’ (video)

The Chief Returning Officer, Prof. Faraday Orumwense, had said after the release of election result from Ekeremor Local Government Area on Sunday night that INEC would make its official declaration on the election before 1:00 a.m. on Monday.

While declaring the final result, Orumwense announced that Lyon polled 352,552 votes to defeat Diri, who recorded 143,172 votes.

The APC won in Brass, Nembe, Ogbia, Southern Ijaw, Ekeremor and Yenagoa while the PDP was victorious in the Sagbama and Kolokuma/Opokuma local government areas of the state.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!