Politics Top Stories

Ondo Assembly sacks LG caretaker committees

Thugs invade Ondo House of Assembly, attack lawmakers, staff, journalists

The 18 local government caretaker committees in Ondo State have been dissolved with immediate effect.

The state House of Assembly took the decision at plenary on Thursday, directing the chairmen of the caretaker committees to handover to the Director of Local Government Administration in their respective LGs.

The Assembly had granted The caretaker committees a six-month tenure extension on April 18. The extension expired on the 17th of October.

Read also: BRT bus crushes Power bike rider to death

Moving the motion for the dissolution, the Deputy Majority Leader of the House, Mr. Oluwasegun Ajimotokin, representing Irele State Constituency, noted that the tenure of the caretaker chairmen had earlier been elongated for six months, which lapsed on October 17, adding that since the issue had been extensively debated and resolved at the parliamentary meeting of the members, the House decided that the 18 local government caretaker committees be dissolved.

“The House at its parliamentary meeting has adequately debated the tenure of local government chairmen and resolved that they be dissolved.

“I hereby move a motion for the dissolution of the committees across the 18 local government areas of Ondo State with immediate effect,” he said.

The motion was seconded by the Parliamentary Secretary, Mr Jamiu Maito, representing Akoko South-West Constituency 1.

The motion was put into voice vote by the Speaker, Mr. Bamidele Oleyelogun, and it was unanimously agreed that the 18 caretaker committees should be dissolved.


RipplesNigeria… without borders, without fears

Click here to join the Ripples Nigeria WhatsApp group for latest updates.

Join the conversation


About the author

Ripples Nigeria

We are an online newspaper, very passionate about Nigerian politics, business and their leaders. We dig deeper, without borders and without fears.

/* ]]> */