Connect with us


Tribunal upholds Nasarawa Assembly majority leader’s election



The National and House of Assembly Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Lafia on Saturday affirmed the election of Mohammed Omadefu as a lawmaker representing the Keana constituency in the Nasarawa State House of Assembly.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared Omadefu as the winner of the March 18 election in the constituency ahead of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Basil Osheka.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate is the House’s majority leader.

READ ALSO: Nasarawa tribunal fixes September 14 for adoption of addresses in petition against Gov Sule

Osheka, however, approached the tribunal to nullify the INEC’s declaration over alleged fraud in the exercise.

In its ruling, the three-member panel led by Justice Francisca Isong-Nnang dismissed the petition for lack of merit.

Justice Isong-Nnang, who read the judgement, said the Osheka and his party failed to convince the tribunal to order a re-run of the election in five polling units of Agaza ward in the constituency.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now