AFCON 2021: Nigeria to face Lesotho, Sierra Leone, Benin in qualifiers

The Super Eagles of Nigeria have been handed an easy draw in the qualifiers of the next edition of the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON).

The 33rd edition of the continental championship is billed to take place in 2021.

The tournament will be held in Cameroon and will also see 24 teams battle for the title, just like the ongoing edition in Egypt.

The draw, which took place on Thursday in Cairo, saw Nigeria drawn in Group L alongside Lesotho, Sierra Leone and Benin Republic.

The qualification ties will be staged from October 7, 2019 and will end in November 2020.

Read Also: Amaju Pinnick dismissed from role as CAF vice-president

The top two team from each group will qualify for the finals except in Group F, where Cameroon automatically qualify as hosts with highest placed of other three teams.

Full Draw:

Group A: Mali, Guinea, Namibia, Liberia/Chad

Group B: Burkina Faso, Uganda, Malawi, South Sudan/Seychelles

Group C: Ghana, South Africa, Sudan, Mauritius/Sao Tome Principe

Group D: Congo DR, Gabon, Angola, Djibouti/Gambia,

Group E: Morocco, Central Africa, Burundi, Mauritania

Group F: Cameroon, Mozambique, Rwanda, Cape Verde

Group G: Egypt, Kenya, Togo, Comoros Islands,

Group H: Algeria, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Zambia,

Group I: Senegal, Congo, Guinea-Bissau, Eswatini

Group J: Tunisia, Libya, Tanzania, Equatorial Guinea,

Group K: Cote d’Ivoire, Ethiopa, Niger, Madagascar

Group L: Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Benin, Lesotho

Join the conversation


About the author

Ben Ugbana

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!