Connect with us


APC clears 17 local councils in Ogun



The Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission (OGSIEC) has declared the chairmanship candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) winners in 17 out of the 20 Local Government Areas in the state following Saturday’s council poll.

Results from the remaining three LGAs – Ado/Odo/Ota, Ifo, and Abeokuta- were being expected and might be declared from 1:30 pm on Sunday (Today).

Among those declared winners by the commission were Wale Adedayo (polled 9,660, Ijebu East); Babatunde Emilola – Gazal ( polled 6,178, Ijebu – Ode); Odulate Olashile (polled 20,925, Sagamu); Shuab Ladejobi (polled 14,985, Odogbolu) and Odusanya Bolaji (polled 25,701, Ijebu-North).

APC: Gov Abiodun to grant autonomy to local councils in Ogun

About 12 political parties, including Labour Party (LP) New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) participated in the exercise. However, a faction of the PDP withdrew from the contest.

Chairman of OGSIEC, Babatunde Osibodu, who announced the results, said the election was one of the most peaceful, credible, and fairest elections in the state.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now