‘Economy: Obj tried, but Jonathan messed us up’ | Ripples Nigeria
Connect with us


‘Economy: Obj tried, but Jonathan messed us up’



Governor of Jigawa state, Abubakar Badaru has absolved former President Olusegun Obasanjo of any blame over the economic recession that has hit Nigeria.

He however declared that former President Goodluck Jonathan is solely to blame for the economic woes which have befallen the country.

According to him, Jonathan was aware of what the future held for Nigeria, but made no move to avert the impending misfortune, carrying on as if the country was immune.

He stated this in Abuja on Thursday while speaking with newsmen after his inauguration as head of the panel to conduct the primary election for candidates of the All Progressives Congress, APC, for the Ondo State governorship election.

Badaru said “On this recession, you have to look at the history. We had signals towards end of 2013 to 2014, it has been there. We knew that it was coming but the past leaders did nothing to stop it.

Read also: Economy: The times are confusing, but we’re focused, Adesoun declares

“The problem with the past leaders was that they should have started cutting these expenditures from time. For instance, what Obasanjo did with cement was good. We stopped importation of cement into Nigeria. Why do we have to import rice, maize, why do we have to import wheat? Why do we have to import milk? At the time the going was good, the government was supposed to give credible intervention for us like what Obasanjo did with the cement to handle the production of rice. It is no magic.”

“Even though they knew the danger was coming, they built an economy based on what we got. It’s just like you are now earning N1million  and spending it all in that year without thinking of your retirement, without thinking of you falling sick, without thinking that your wife will give birth to another child and that you’ll take the child to school”, he stated.

Badaru was inaugurated along with four others, in a five-member Election Committee and three-member Election Appeal Committee for the Ondo APC primary.

National Organising Secretary of the party, Sen. Osita Izunaso, who inaugurated the panel named Badaru as chairman while other members are Dr. Bruce Ugbode (Secretary), Mr Hamma Adama Ali, Prince M. Martins and Engr. Mohammed Lawal.

The three-member Election Appeal Committee is chaired by Mrs. Helen Bendega. Other members are: Alh. Musa Umar (Secretary) and Nikky Ejezie.





RipplesNigeria …without borders, without fears


Join the conversation