FIFA Best: Messi beats Ronaldo, Van Dijk to men’s player award

Barcelona and Argentina forward, Lionel Messi defeated Cristiano Ronaldo and Virgil van Dijk to win FIFA the Best award on Monday night.

This is the sixth time the Argentine has ben voted the world’s best, after wins in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

Recall that Luka Modric won it last year.

32-year-old Messi helped Barcelona win La Liga and reach the semi-finals of the Champions League.

Read Also: FIFA Best: Klopp crowned best coach ahead of Guardiola, Pochettino

In the Women’s category, two-time World Cup winner, Megan Rapinoe added the best FIFA Women’s Player award to her list of accolades.

She defeated England’s Lucy Bronze to the award.

Leeds Utd won the Fair Play prize, while Daniel Zsori won the Puscas Award.

The other award at the ceremony includes the goalkeeper awards for men and women’s football.

While Liverpool keeper, Allison Becker won the men’s title while Netherland and Atletico goalie, Sari van Veenendaal won the women’s prize.

The Fifa/Fifpro Men’s World 11 were Alisson, Matthijs de Ligt, Sergio Ramos, Virgil van Dijk, Marcelo, Luka Modric, Frenkie de Jong, Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe, Ronaldo and Hazard.

For women: Sari van Veenendaal, Lucy Bronze, Wendie Renard, Nilla Fischer, Kelley O’Hara, Amandine Henry, Julie Ertz, Marta, Rose Lavelle, Megan Rapinoe & Alex Morgan

Join the conversation


About the author

Ben Ugbana

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!