Connect with us


Gusau wins NFF election to replace Pinnick as president



Amaju Pinnick has been replaced as the president of the Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) by Ibrahim Musa Gusau.

In Benin City, Edo State, on Friday, the NFF’s 78th Annual General Assembly elected Gusau, a former Chairman of Chairmen in Nigerian football.

After a run-off against former Nigerian international Peterside Idah, he won.

Gusau received 21 votes, while former NFF first vice president Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi received 12, League Management Company chairman Shehu Dikko received 6, Idah received 1, Abba Yola received 1, Christian Emeruwa received 0, and David Doherty received 0.

Read Also: NFF Elections: Pinnick urges candidates to campaign with ‘utmost decency’

But a run-off was scheduled since he fell short of the required 22 votes.

While Akinwunmi and Dikko stepped down from the run-off, Idah faced Gusau.

And after the conclusion of the run-off, Gusau polled 39 votes while Idah scored one vote.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now