Connect with us


Lagos Assembly concludes screening of Sanwo-Olu’s cabinet nominees



Lagos Assembly concludes screening of Sanwo-Olu’s cabinet nominees

The Lagos State House of Assembly’s 16-man ad hoc committee has concluded the screening of Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu’s Commissioner and Special Adviser-nominees.

The committee, headed by Rotimi Abiru, had started the screening of the 25 nominees on Thursday at the Lateef Jakande Auditorium of the Assembly Complex in Ikeja. 8 nominees were screened on Thursday, 10 on Friday and the last 7 on Saturday.

Speaking to newsmen at the conclusion of the exercise on Saturday, the chairman expressed satisfaction with the competence of the nominees in the way they all responded to questions from members of the committee.

READ ALSO: South West governors reveal plans to fight insecurity

“We have screened all the 25 nominees of his Excellency. Most of the nominees displayed brilliance and understanding of the workings of government.

“The outing was not bad but of course, at the end of this exercise, we will prepare a report and forward to the House of 40, for a final decision to be taken by then, and we will know who among the nominees will make it to serve in the government.

“The exercise has not been bad but not without some hitches,’’ he said.

On gender balance, Abiru said that the governor’s inclusion of 8 females in the list was fair enough and that they female nominees did their best during the exercise.

On the inclusion of youths, the chairman added that the governor’s young nominees, some in their early 30s, displayed satisfactory competence.

He said that the nominees would have to appear before the assembly during plenary but without the rigorous drilling they went through with the committee.

The nominees for commissioner in Lagos State are as follows:

1. Mr. Rabiu Onaolapo

2. Folashade Adefisayo

3. Prof. Akin Abayomi

4. Dr. Idris Salako

5. Mr. Tunji Bello

6. Mr. Gbenga Omotoso

7. Mrs. Toke Benson-Awoyinka

8. Mrs. Bolaji Dada

9. Mr. Lere Odusote

10. Dr. Frederic Oladeinde

11. Mr. Gbolahan Lawal

12. Ms. Adekemi Ajayi

13. Mr. Femi George

14. Dr. Wale Ahmed

15. Mr. Moyo Onigbajo (SAN)

16. Mr. Hakeem Fahm

17. Mrs. Ajibola Ponnle

18. Engr. Aramide Adeyoye

19. Mr. Segun Dawodu

20. Mrs. Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf

21. Mr. Sam Egube

22. Ms. Ruth Olusanya

23. Princess Aderemi Adebowale

24. Mr. Tunbosun Alake

25. Mr. Afolabi Ayantayo

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now