Connect with us


Nasarawa Assembly constitutes standing committees



Nasarawa Assembly shuts down due to COVID-19 fears

The Nasarawa State House of Assembly on Monday unveiled the chairmen and members of its 24 standing committees to conduct its affairs for the next four years.

The Speaker of the House, Alhaji Ibrahim Abdullahi, who unveiled the members of the committees at the plenary in Lafia, urged them to discharge their duties without fear or favour.

He also urged the committee members not to compromise in their oversight functions.

The speaker said: “We have been sworn in for two or close to three months now, hence the need for the constitution of this Standing Committees to pilot the affairs of the House.

“I urge you to live above board while discharging your duties.

READ ALSO: Nasarawa governorship election tribunal reserves judgment

“We must protect the integrity of this institution by ensuring that the right things are done for the advantage of our people.”

The House rules and business committee is headed by Mr. Daniel Ogazi, while Barr. Esson Mairiga was appointed the chairman of the judiciary committee.

The committee on women’s affairs will be led by Hajara Danyaro.

The public complaints and petition committee will be chaired by the Minority Leader of the House, Mr. Luka Iliya Zhekaba, while the Deputy Majority Leader, Mr. Danladi Jatau, is to head the committee on education.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

15 + seven =