NPFL season to begin Nov 3, return to original 38-game format

NPFL resumption date postponed

The new Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) season will begin on November 3rd, and will revert to its original format of the 20 clubsides represented in a single log.

This much was agreed upon after the conduct of the draw and a long consultative meeting by the League Management Company (LMC) on Monday night.

Last season saw the teams grouped into A and B of 12 teams each; and after the regular season of 22 games per team, the top 3 from each group went on to play the championship round at Agege stadium in Lagos.

Champions Enyimba will begin their title defence on matchday 1 against Nasarawa United, while runners-up Kano Pillars will host Rivers United.

Read Also: Troost-Ekong hails Pinnick, NFF for making Brazil friendly possible

The season will run from November, 2019 to May 30, 2020, with each team playing against 19 opponents both home and away.


Wikki Tourists vs Jigawa Stars
Plateau United vs Lobi Stars
Delta Force vs Akwa Starlets
Kano Pillars vs Rivers United
Heartland FC vs MFM FC
FC IfeanyiUbah vs Adamawa United
Rangers International vs Sunshine Stars
Warri Wolves vs Akwa United
Abia Warriors vs Katsina United
Enyimba vs Nasarawa United

Join the conversation


About the author

Ben Ugbana

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!