Connect with us


Oyo Assembly suspends 13 local council chiefs indefinitely



The Oyo State House of Assembly on Tuesday suspended the chairmen of 13 local government areas of the state indefinitely.

The council chiefs were suspended for non-compliance with the House resolution on the status of earthmoving equipment in their respective domains.

Those suspended were the chairmen of Akinyele East Local Council Development Authority (LCDA), Ido LGA, Oluyole LGA, Ibadan North-East LGA, Lagelu West LCDA, Soro LCDA, and Ogbomosho Central LCDA.

READ ALSO: Oyo Assembly passes bill to address illegal abortion

Others were Ogbomosho South LCDA, Ajorosun LCDA, Ibarapa North West LCDA, Itesiwaju LGA, Oyo East LGA, and Oyo South-East LCDA.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now