Connect with us


Barca’s Pedri wins 2021 Golden Boy award



Barcelona midfielder Pedri has been crowned the 2021 Golden Boy, and award for the best under-21 player playing in a European country’s top division.

The 18-year-old beat England and Borussia Dortmund midfielder Jude Bellingham to the award by a record 199 points.

Pedri played more minutes than any other Barca player last season, going on to play at Euro 2020 and win Olympic silver with Spain, but has not played since September because of a thigh injury.

Read Also: Haaland crowned 2020 Golden Boy after beating Fati, Davis to award

In October, Pedri – who joined Barca from Las Palmas in 2020 – signed a new deal with the Catalan club which includes a 1bn euro release clause.

Borussia Dortmund forward Erling Braut Haaland won the Golden Boy award in 2020.

First awarded in 2003, it has also been won by the likes of Wayne Rooney, Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero, Raheem Sterling and Kylian Mbappe.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now