Connect with us


Bayelsa Utd beat Nasarawa Utd to win 2021 Aiteo Cup



Bayelsa United have emerged winners of the 2021 Aiteo Cup after beating Nasarawa United in the final at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, Benin City on Sunday.

Bayelsa won the Cup for the first time
after a 4-3 victory on penalties following a 2-2 draw in regulation time.

Inikurogha Okardi gave Baylesa United the lead in the 19th minute before Chinedu Ohanachom equalised for Nasarawa United within seconds.

Emo James scored the second goal for Bayelsa United, while Aliyu Abdullahi netted Nasarawa United’s second of the evening.

Read Also: Akwa United emerge NPFL champions for first time ever

Both teams failed to register a goal after the break and the gane went on to penalty shootout.

Bayelsa United are now the second team from the second tier to win the FA Cup after defunct Dolphins Football Club of Port Harcourt claimed the title in 2011.

The Yenogoa club will compete in the CAF Confederation Cup next season.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now