Connect with us


Ronaldo asks referee to overturn penalty he won



Al-Nassr forward Cristiano Ronaldo on Monday night convinced the referee not to award him a penalty the he won.

The 38-year-old went down in the second minute after a challenge in his side’s Asian Champions League clash with Iranian side Persepolis.

But when Chinese referee Ma Ning awarded a penalty, Ronaldo argued the case for the decision to be overturned.

Ning was then sent to the pitchside monitor and ultimately changed his call.

Read Also: Messi rivalry now ‘gone’, says Ronaldo

A combination of the video assistant referee and Ronaldo’s honesty came to Persepolis’ rescue and kept the scores goalless at half-time.

Al-Nassr had already qualified for the knockout stages before the match in Riyadh.

The Saudi Pro League side are top of Group E with 12 points after four matches.

Al-Nassr are five points ahead of Persepolis who are in second place.

Join the conversation


Support Ripples Nigeria, hold up solutions journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism driven by data comes at huge financial costs.

As a media platform, we hold leadership accountable and will not trade the right to press freedom and free speech for a piece of cake.

If you like what we do, and are ready to uphold solutions journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria cause.

Your support would help to ensure that citizens and institutions continue to have free access to credible and reliable information for societal development.

Donate Now